Home Page

Curriculum Information

The children in the Early Years Foundation Stage (those in the Nursery and in their first year at school) follow the Foundation Stage Curriculum. This covers Communication and Language, Literacy, Maths, Personal Social and Emotional Development, Physical Development, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design.


Children in subsequent years are taught the National Curriculum. There are the core subjects which are English, Mathematics, Science, Computer Studies and Religious Education.


In addition there are the Foundation Subjects of History, Geography, Music, Art & Design, Design & Technology, Personal Social and Health Education and Physical Education.

The Nursery and Reception classes both follow the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum which is divided into the following areas.


  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design



The curriculum is designed to encourage the development of every aspect of each child and is delivered through play activities, both indoors and outdoors. Play is essential work for children. They are provided with a wide variety of activities and experiences which give them the opportunity to develop social, creative, physical, scientific, mathematical and language skills.

Children need time and space to explore and play freely and are encouraged to exercise choice in order to develop their initiative and independence. There are times during the day where they work independently, times when they work one-to-one with an adult or in a small group and times when they all join together.


The Early Year’s Foundation Stage Curriculum is made up of prime and specific areas of learning. The prime areas are fundamental, work together and move through to support development in all other areas. They consist of-


  • Personal, Social and Emotional development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical development

The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge for the children to participate successfully in society. They are –

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design


The curriculum is delivered in such a way that it provides children with a rich, stimulating learning environment through a carefully chosen range of themes or topic. Each theme lasts roughly half a term but there may be other ‘mini themes’ which the children engage in. We have  introduced whole school themes for one half a term which means that the children in the Nursery and the Reception Classes are engaging in the same theme as the children in the Key Stage 1. This has proved successful and unifying for the whole school.


Key Stage 1

The important skill of reading is started in the Nursery and developed more formally in the Reception Classes with our personalized systematic phonics programme using a combination of Letters and Sounds with Jolly Phonic actions.

In Year 1 and Year 2 (Key Stage 1) all pupils follow the National Curriculum and study Religious Education as well as Personal, Social and Health Education (P.S.H.E.). The subjects are:

  • National Curriculum core subjects: –
    • English
    • Mathematics
    • Science
    • Computing


  • National Curriculum foundation subjects: –
    • Art
    • Design and Technology
    • History
    • Geography
    • Music
    • PE
    • Religious Education
    • PHSE


Our curriculum is organised into half-termly themes, with the curriculum subjects identified within each theme. This means that teachers can link subjects together to make them meaningful for the children, and more interesting and engaging. In English and Maths teaching builds each term on what pupils need to learn next. Each half term the class teachers send out a Curriculum Plan detailing the theme and areas of learning that will be covered within the theme.