Home Page

EYFS information


The statutory framework for the early years foundation (EYFS) stage sets the standards for the learning, development, and care of children from birth to 5 years. The guidance within the EYFS framework ensures that early years leaders, practitioners, teachers, teaching assistants, and childminders can effectively support and nurture the learning and development of children in their setting, from birth to five years of age.


Play, and more importantly learning through play, is an essential part of the early years foundation stage with in the seven main areas of development. These are devided into two main sections. 


The 3 prime areas:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

The 4 specific areas:

  • literacy
  • maths
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design